Skip to content
Kensington and Chelsea Counts — Kensington and Chelsea, in numbers.Local help →

Kensington and Chelsea, in numbers

People and living standards

Kensington and Chelsea council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Kensington and Chelsea council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 143,626 in 1991 to 145,734 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Kensington and Chelsea council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 141,099 people in 1996; 145,734 people in 2025. 3.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Kensington and Chelsea council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991143,626
1992142,237
1993141,532
1994139,997
1995140,603
1996141,099
1997142,096
1998143,140
1999147,678
2000154,661
2001162,199
2002163,827
2003165,268
2004165,752
2005168,375
2006165,245
2007162,883
2008162,579
2009161,893
2010160,463
2011158,251
2012157,240
2013156,823
2014156,178
2015156,149
2016152,708
2017149,651
2018148,471
2019146,805
2020144,874
2021144,266
2022147,887
2023149,049
2024147,255
2025145,734
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Kensington and Chelsea council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,906 people in 1996; 18,608 people in 2025. 6.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Kensington and Chelsea council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,012
199219,390
199319,048
199419,110
199519,245
199619,906
199720,501
199821,495
199922,700
200023,489
200124,854
200225,072
200325,580
200425,499
200525,547
200625,192
200724,873
200824,747
200924,851
201024,833
201124,473
201224,399
201324,153
201423,892
201523,613
201623,100
201722,728
201822,229
201921,917
202021,159
202120,231
202220,218
202319,869
202419,277
202518,608
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Kensington and Chelsea council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 102,407 people in 1996; 103,640 people in 2025. 1.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Kensington and Chelsea council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991105,253
1992104,532
1993104,162
1994102,480
1995102,759
1996102,407
1997102,772
1998102,671
1999106,025
2000112,001
2001117,882
2002119,295
2003120,228
2004120,769
2005123,357
2006120,963
2007118,929
2008118,636
2009117,773
2010116,310
2011114,461
2012112,934
2013112,384
2014111,842
2015111,844
2016108,793
2017106,176
2018105,439
2019104,006
2020102,932
2021103,224
2022106,284
2023107,190
2024105,351
2025103,640
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Kensington and Chelsea council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,786 people in 1996; 23,486 people in 2025. 25% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Kensington and Chelsea council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,361
199218,315
199318,322
199418,407
199518,599
199618,786
199718,823
199818,974
199918,953
200019,171
200119,463
200219,460
200319,460
200419,484
200519,471
200619,090
200719,081
200819,196
200919,269
201019,320
201119,317
201219,907
201320,286
201420,444
201520,692
201620,815
201720,747
201820,803
201920,882
202020,783
202120,811
202221,385
202321,990
202422,627
202523,486
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 143,373 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Kensington and Chelsea · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh17,02511.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African11,2797.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups9,5256.6%
White91,39463.7%
Other ethnic group14,1509.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 158,649 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Kensington and Chelsea · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White112,01770.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups8,9865.7%
Asian/Asian British15,86110%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British10,3336.5%
Other ethnic group11,4527.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 158,919 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Kensington and Chelsea · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White124,92478.6%
Mixed6,5054.1%
Asian/Asian British7,7374.9%
Black/Black British11,0817%
Chinese/Other8,6725.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 345.4% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Kensington and Chelsea council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £34,869 per person in 1997; £115,641 per person in 2024. 231.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Kensington and Chelsea council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199734,869
199834,629
199935,779
200037,976
200137,156
200236,457
200337,447
200440,241
200543,138
200648,076
200754,735
200859,154
200958,673
201057,013
201156,143
201261,698
201368,446
201474,315
201578,282
201679,211
201781,635
201887,554
201988,808
202086,995
202194,392
202299,455
2023107,363
2024115,641
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Kensington and Chelsea council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 228.6% in 1997; 345.4% in 2024. 116.8 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Kensington and Chelsea council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997228.6
1998219.8
1999216.3
2000219
2001200.3
2002188.2
2003187.3
2004196.5
2005206.9
2006228.3
2007256.7
2008275.6
2009266.4
2010253
2011244.6
2012265.3
2013290.8
2014311
2015311.5
2016311.3
2017314.4
2018329
2019321.5
2020314.5
2021332.1
2022333.1
2023339.1
2024345.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56.4%

21 March 2021 · Kensington and Chelsea council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.1%

21 March 2021 · Kensington and Chelsea council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

11.4%

21 March 2021 · Kensington and Chelsea council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.5%

21 March 2021 · Kensington and Chelsea council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£1,233,000

July 2026 · Kensington and Chelsea council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£3,690

August 2026 · Kensington and Chelsea council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.